top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

Final reflection

I remember the first day of college. Mr.Mat brought in donuts and I thought, “How different can college be from high school?” Teachers are cool bringing in donuts and all we have to do is come to class. It’s crazy to think back to beginning project one because summer C is almost over! The first day of class I thought I knew what I was going to write about. I started project 1 almost instantly. Looking back at my first draft of project one makes me cringe a little bit. After meeting with Mr.Mat I was told to revise my project. I changed my topic almost completely but I think I needed to revise my first project to truly understand what the purpose of the first project was. I enjoyed writing the first project and I strangely learned to love my rewrite of project one. I made the project more personal to me in the rewrite, which is a critique I got from Mr.Mat. After having a teacher point me in a different direction, I had a lot of other people look over my project one. I took my rewrite to my mother, a high school English teacher, my sister-in-law, a 4th year UF med student, and Logan, my boss who seems as if she is good at everything. Also during the rewrite process I went to the Reading Writing Center twice for project one and I planned to go back when I was done with my project 2. I have learned over summer C that I should always use the resources available to me because they only can benefit me in the long run. During the revision process of project one it was time to begin project two. I was a little fuzzy about the requirements of project two until after my meeting at the sweet shop.

Project two was difficult for me to write for two reasons… I had to write a large portion of my essay in the hospital because my sister was admitted with issues with her unborn baby and I had never written a 2000 word research paper. I had also never created an annotated bibliography. I let fear get the best of me. My creative process just shut down as soon as I read the word “research.” I have never been a strong writer. As soon as I began project two, I knew something wasn’t right. My essay didn’t flow and it was hard to follow. When I met with Mr.Mat at the sweet shop I was pointed in a different direction. I printed out my original essay and started from scratch. Kaitlyn and I booked a study room in the library for three hours and wrote for the whole three hours. After three hours, I felt a bit more confident. I had written my annotated bibliography and had bullet points of the topics I wanted to hit on in my essay. I had also made a flow chart to be able to follow while writing my essay. The flow chart as well as having a better idea of what I wanted to write about helped a lot with rewriting my project two. Bouncing ideas around with my whole family in the hospital helped with finishing up my second project too.

While in the process of writing my essays, I was also trying to keep up with my blog. I have found blogging and keeping up with my website to be a hobby of mine. Whenever I get bored in my dorm room I would find myself rearranging, adding and editing my website. I found project 3 most interesting because it is kind of similar to advertising to me. I’ve always had the idea of majoring in advertising but was unsure if I would like advertising.

ENC 2135 helped me learn a lot about myself. I had to recall the first memory of my life for project one. Throughout the projects I have noticed I am not a strong writer but I feel I am good at persuading people. I believe this class will help me in the future with projects I may do in my major. My major (as of now) is retail merchandising and product development. I would love to have my own retail blog or maybe have a website one day. Thanks to English, I have an idea of how to create a website and then I just have to utilize my major and post some spunky fashion onto my website. Thank you for being a bold English teacher! Waking up for an 8AM wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.


bottom of page